a group of people walking down the street: Moscow

© Provided by Gulf News

Muscat: The Sultanate’s embassy in Moscow said that Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has approved a decree involving 52 countries, including the Sultanate of Oman, whose citizens will be able to obtain an electronic visa to enter Russia.

The embassy states that the decision will take effect from the beginning of 2021. The e-visa will permit entry to Russia from any border point (land, sea and air), and to any city in Russia. The period of stay with this type of visa which used to be eight days previously has also been amended to 16 days. The embassy indicated that the requirement to obtain an invitation or hotel reservations or any other documents confirming the purpose of the trip too has been cancelled.

The visa is granted in different categories such as tourist, commercial, humanitarian and visiting